2015-03-24 18:39:25 UTC
"The whirlwind form does not provoke attacks of opportunity, even if the
creature enters the space another creature occupies. Another creature
might be caught in the whirlwind if it touches or enters the whirlwind,
or if the whirlwind moves into or through the creature’s space. A
creature in whirlwind form cannot make its normal attacks and does not
threaten the area around it."
but what's with the following:
"Moving Through a Square
You can move through an unoccupied square without difficulty in most
circumstances. Difficult terrain and a number of spell effects might
hamper your movement through open spaces.
You can move through a square occupied by a friendly character, unless
you are charging. When you move through a square occupied by a friendly
character, that character doesn't provide you with cover.
You can't move through a square occupied by an opponent unless the
opponent is helpless. You can move through a square occupied by a
helpless opponent without penalty. Some creatures, particularly very
large ones, may present an obstacle even when helpless. In such cases,
each square you move through counts as 2 squares.
Ending Your Movement
You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature
unless it is helpless."
This together would suggest that only helpless creatures might get
caught...but then the next paragraph of Whirlwind says:
"Creatures one or more size categories smaller than the whirlwind
may be lifted into the air. An affected creature must succeed on a
Reflex save (DC 10 + half monster’s HD + the monster’s Strength
modifier) when it comes into contact with the whirlwind or take damage
as if it were hit by the whirlwind creature's slam attack. It must also
succeed on a second Reflex save or be picked up bodily and held
suspended in the powerful winds, automatically taking the indicated
damage each round. A creature that can fly is allowed a Reflex save each
round to escape the whirlwind. The creature still takes damage but can
leave if the save is successful."
First: Ref save would indicate non-helpless victims, hmmm...
Second: weight is irrelevant???
Third: contact is not well defined (same square, touch attack,
Forth: read on, it gets even better
"Creatures trapped in the whirlwind cannot move except to go where the
whirlwind carries them or to escape the whirlwind. Trapped creatures can
otherwise act normally, but must succeed on a concentration check (DC 15
+ spell level) to cast a spell. Creatures caught in the whirlwind take a
–4 penalty to Dexterity and a –2 penalty on attack rolls. The whirlwind
can have only as many creatures trapped inside at one time as will fit
inside the whirlwind’s volume. The whirlwind can eject any carried
creatures whenever it wishes as a free action, depositing them in its
So the creatures' volumes are a restricting factor? Although volumes
are not in the monsters' descriptions or anywhere else in the rules...
Plus, no one says I can't grapple the friggin Whirlwind and then pin it?
It just came up in my game and I was disappointed and surprised that PF
didn't fix this shit.